Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking

Daily walking is less and less popular nowadays. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this phenomenon and propose some viable steps to resolve the problem.

The primary reason why people are no longer interested in walking may mainly come from the superiority of alternative means of transport. Normally, people tend to choose to travel by vehicle rather than walk because of its convenience and comfort. For example, private transport such as cars, motorbikes, or public transport such as buses and taxis outweigh walking since they offer traveling at a higher but require no physical effort. In addition, the popularity and availability of passenger-carrying services leave no room for walking. In the past, people have to walk because they do not have any other ways to travel but passenger-carrying services are now not only available all around the clock but also can easily be booked online within a second with the assistance of taxi apps, such as grab and bee, so walking seems to be an unnecessary task.

To combat this worrying issue, the following feasible steps should be taken. Firstly, sidewalks should be installed and expanded around buildings to force people to walk in and out. Since we are unable to prevent people from using vehicles, companies can add a walking distance by locating their parking lot out of their building so people will have to walk from the parking lot to work and back. Besides, cooperations should apply some policies that encourage their staff to walk. For example, allowing employees to have 30 minutes of relaxation during working time may encourage people to go out and walk more.

In conclusion, there are serious repercussions attributable to this those negative phenomena, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this problem.