Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

Daily walking is less and less popular nowadays. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this phenomenon and propose some viable steps to resolve the problem.

It is clearly seen that people are no longer interested in walking because of the superiority of alternative means of transport. First and foremost, traveling by vehicle is faster while less tiring than going on foot. To be specific, private transport such as cars, motorbikes, or public transport such as buses and taxis, offer traveling at a higher speed and requires no physical effort, which definitely outweighs walking. In addition, traveling services are popular and available all around the clock. While people had to go out and catch a taxi in the past, it is now easily booked online via some mobile apps, such as grab and bee, at any time, which causes people to lose their motivation to walk.

To combat this worrying issue, the following feasible steps should be taken. Firstly, sidewalks should be installed and expanded around buildings to force people to walk in and out. Since we are unable to prevent people from using vehicles, companies can add a walking distance by locating their parking lot out of their building so people will have to walk from the parking lot to work and back. Besides, cooperations should apply some policies that encourage their staff to walk. For example, allowing employees to have 30 minutes of relaxation during working time may encourage people to go out and walk more.

In conclusion, there are serious repercussions attributable to this those negative phenomena, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this problem.