Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking

It is evidence that the number of people walk daily is decreasing gradually. This essay will discuss about several factors that might have contribution to this issue and possible solutions to motivate people for walking more.

People's interest in walking for their activities is decline day by day. A recent survey results said that the majority of people living both in city center and rural area now prefer riding or driving than walking. Related to the issue, there are various reasons affecting their preference for using vehicles such as lifestyle and uncomfortable environment. Regarding lifestyle, what we ride or drive are now becoming something essential and associated to social status. The vehicles we have also become one of success symbols although some people do not really need them. Additionally, the other reason which make people more likely not to walk is the uncomfortable environment. For instance, high level of air pollution, damaged pedestrians, and simply hot weather. This environment-related problem would make people choose to use their private vehicles.

To mitigate the issue, we could offer some solutions including the renovation of pedestrians and society education about the benefits of walking. The renovation of pedestrians for becoming more comfortable and green through adding trees or plants at its line will encourage people to walk. They would not be feel not save and hot because of the pollution and weather anymore. In addition, regarding to the lifestyle, the governments and related parties could be together built a campaign and social education about the positive sites of walking on health and economics. We can explain about the impact of walking on our cardiovascular health and the reducing diabetes potency. Furthermore, we should also promote that walking is the cheapest method of transportation that frequently chosen by people in developed countries. Hence, slowly but sure, it would affect people's point of view that walking is more elegant than driving ar riding expensive vehicles in crowded city.

In conclusion, lifestyle and uncomfortable environment are the factors affecting people preference in using their own vehicles. However, paving great and green pedestrians and social campaign would be beneficial solutions to motivate people for spending their time more for walking.