Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film. Do you think this trend is positive or negative?

Over the past century, cinematography, a scientific endeavor product, has become an industry that employing many thousands of people and a medium of mass entertainment and communication. In parallel with film industry expansion, the big leap in technology advancement has now allow individual to create their own video art. This tendency has many positive ramifications, such as beneficial to people’s creativity and shape a fair, competitive market in movie industry. In this essay, these positive effects will be explained in greater detail.

For one, film is a form of art and people now have limitless resources to making it. This is advantageous to people’s creativity. Film making requires different stages including screenwriting, pre-production, post production, casting. Though the expense involves in making films almost immediately lead film production to concentrate under the auspices of standing production companies. Duo to advancement of movie-making technology and acquire investment outside the film industry itself, an individual can now produce a film based on his own imagination. Hence, boost people’s creativity and place the art of movie-making in higher dimension.

In addition, this swing in film making creates a competitive market in film industry. Big firms will make more effort in film making process which attracts and can reap benefits to viewers. For instance, in Vietnam, a young director name JV made an independent short movie that gained him many international awards on YouTube streaming platforms. It creates a phenomenon; now more individuals film making share their works on YouTube and the number of people going to cinema decreases. To combat against this event, big corps invest more money in marketing to get their movie-goers back. This market share between independent movie-maker and big companies will reward movie-goers with good viewing experience due to excellent products from both.

As the above make clear, today people are able make a film and less depend on big companies brings positive to the viewers. These trends will likely remain in the foreseeable future.