Forests are the lungs of the earth. Destruction of the world’s forests amounts to death of the world we currently know.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

deforestation is a major threat to every living organism on Earth. Particularly in this decade, it has been a prominent issue discussed all over the world. I strongly agree with the statement that deforestation could lead to the extinction of living species on this planet.

Firstly, forests are the major source of oxygen, which is the primary requirement for any living being. additionally, forests also help in reducing the air pollution by absorbing carbon dioxide. Continuous deforestation could lead to drastically reduced oxygen content in air and ultimately affecting living beings.

Till now around two thirds of green pastures have been lost since the evolution of mankind. At this point of time, serious measures to restoring the forests should be taken to restore the lost forest and improving the environment.

Furthermore, forests are natural habitat for many different animal species and tribal people. Cutting down these forests could lead to imbalance in the wildlife and can cause the extinction of species. For instance, due to the massive deforestation at Amazon forest hundreds of butterfly species have become extinct. additionally, due to drastic decrease in tree number, Global warming is also growing issue to be considered for the fate of the planet.

Even though, in this era of increasing population and technologies, land required for living and establishing factories are in a huge demand. But this increment necessarily should not affect the overall population. Thus serious measures should be taken to prevent