Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged.

To what extent do you think is it a positive or negative development

pollution is become a burning issue nowadays, goverments have started attention to some sustainable sources like alternative sources of energy. renewable energy is a kind of energy taken from wind, solar, tidal, nuclear, water power, so it guarantees a boundless supply of energy for future generation. while fossil fuels which originated from nature and taking millions of years to be formed is running out, alternative energy is available to use. moreover, renewable energy is much cleaner energy than fossil fuels, because it can generate eclectricity with no associated air pollution emissions. therefore using clean energy is contribute to the protection of the environment and slowing down the process of global warming, in order to obtain fossil fuels, human must exploit oil. coal.... and that activities probably destroy animals's habitat. for examble, if oil exploitation takes place, oil spill will occur which have detrimental effects on natural creature