Fossil fuels are the main source of energy around the world. However, people are being encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Why?

Some people argue that fossil fuels are essential energy sources for economic development despite their high polluting potentials, while others encourage that alternative resources of energy such as wind energy, solar energy should replace fossil fuels. In my opinion, it is high time people used more clean fuels for long-term benefits.

It is beyond doubt that the alarming rate usage of fossil fuels has detrimentally affected the environment. Firstly, it causes climate change. The emissions released from burning fossil fuels have negative effects on our planet. For example, carbon dioxide pollutes the earth’s atmosphere, leading to a continuous rise in global temperatures. This phenomenon can also cause natural habitat destruction or life-taking diseases. Secondly, fossil fuels are non-renewable sources of energy. Fossil fuels can not be replenished immediately, it takes ages. However, with the current rate of usage, fossil fuels will soon run out if there is no reduction in consumption or alternative resources.

On the other hand, making the switch to clean energy does good for people and the environment. Renewable energy sources like solar or wind make smaller or no environmental impact. They are considered environmentally friendly as they emit zero toxic gases. Moreover, over-reliance on fossil fuels can be solved by clean fuels. Powerful winds, sun heat, moving water cost none but they generate a huge yet economical energy supply to nations. Finally, it leads to job creation. The dramatic exploitation will give rise to employment opportunities. More new and stable jobs in manufacturing or installation will be added. Hence, it increases economic development.

In conclusion, I think that the encouragement of using clean energy is very suitable for the earth’s condition. Shifting from fossil fuels to alternative energy sources is one of the vital ways to protect our planet.