Fossil fuels (oil, coal and natural gas) are the main sources in many countries but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged.

To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Some nations are being utilised the renewable sources to met their energy demands; whereas, majority nations are still rely on the conventional energy sources such as coal, oil and gas. In my opinion using wind and solar energy to meet requirement by countries is a positive step as it is environment friendly and abundantly available.

Non-renewable sources such as fossil fuels are known for its detrimental effect on the environment. When utilizing these sources they emit carbon in the atmosphere making it polluted. Climate changes occur due to this reason. In contrast, the wind and solar energies are greener to our planet. They do not emit any by-products which are harmful to atmosphere. For example, a recent report statistics from Solar Alliance shows that India lowered its carbon emission level around 20% by replacing thermal power plants to solar power plants across the country.

Apart from being harmful to the environment the conventional sources are available in limited amount. Their reservoir in the earth will surely exhausted one day. Due to this reason their prices are hiking day by day and puts extra pressure on government spending. On the other hand, the eco-friendly renewable energy sources are abundantly available. Countries do not need to rely on the others and they are also freely available, which makes them budget friendly. As per the same report cited previously also shows that India’s step toward cleaner energy reduced it oil and gas import spending by 57% in a fiscal year.

To conclude, step taken by the some nations to use alternative energy sources is a positive development in my opinion. Renewable energy sources are eco-friendly and freely available, which makes them best alternative to coal, oil and gas. I therefore feel that every nation should switch over to them.