In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future, Automated cars is expected to replace human in controlling vehicles and the need for drivers will not exist anymore. People have different views about it, but I strongly believe that its pros far outweigh any detriments.

On the one hand, those who are not in favor of the idea of self-driving cars is highly skeptical about the passenger’s safety because of numerous potential technical errors. They indicated that driverless cars are preprogrammed by engineers, it cannot run perfectly without human control and itself cannot recognise unexpected dangers occur in the roads especially weather factor. For instance, it is seemed too easy for mechanized vehicles to moving in dry conditions, on the contrary if there were inclement weather such as foggy, snowy or stormy, these intelligent transport would not endure. This possibility is minimized as technology develops. Another issue is that a number people may lose their jobs. This mean truck, bus and taxi drivers will need to find new jobs with the introduction of self-driving cars, resulting in a rise in unemployment.

On the other hand, these disadvantages above are blurry in comparison to its tremendous advantages. Firstly, many accidents are caused by bad driving behaviors like distracted driving, speeding, drunk driving and reckless driving. This can be reduced by using automonous vehicles instead. Despite the fact that there is still subsist undeniable risks, on the contrary these cotinent factors are rare, if the programmer update and fix cracks regularly. In most cases, incidents with self-driving cars are the fault of human drivers. In addition, the government can save economical of time and resources on transport facilities by cutting down a large quantity of expenses like speeding cameras, maintaining road signs and improving infrastructure. As a result, authority have more money to invest in other key areas like economic, education and medical.

In conclusion, it is clear that driverless vehicles would bring positive effects. Although technical errors and labor issue may arise, I fully believe that advantages like reduction in accidents and traffic are more crucial.