In the future, it is expected that the proportion of older people will be higher than younger

people in some countries. Is it a negative or positive development? (Vietnam, 2019.03.24)

It is true that the percentage of senior people will surpass the proportion of adult people in some countries in the future. Despite there are some advantages of the growing number of elderly people. I would argue that it is a negative development.

On the one hand, it has been proved that the old citizen in their 50s can significantly contribute some certain responsibilities in some aspects of society such as teaching, counselling, coach student, etc since they gained a vast knowledge and hands-on experience in their own field. For example, many senior citizens are being hired to work for Japanese companies to help them function effectively, which usually as an executive counsellor. Besides, old people could help the other members in their families to do babysitting or household chores, and other kinds of stuffs. There could be some possibilities of less criminal because senior people tend to be a law-abiding citizen.

Nevertheless, as people live longer and the populations of countries grow older, there are several problems can be predicted. The most concern is the financial budget of a country, it would have to be spent on building more hospitals, nursing home care, facilities, healthcare to provide for old people so that they could enjoy. Therefore, it would cost a bunch of money from the government. However, that amount of money should be spent on improving the quality of people’s life and infrastructure instead. Moreover, there would certainly be more citizens of retirement age who would be eligible for pension policy. The proportion of young working adults would be smaller, and the authorities will therefore receive less money in taxes due to the size of the population. In other words, there would be a huge tax burden for working adults.

To sum up, it seems to me that the growing proportion of senior people could bring a few benefits, but I firmly believed that trend brings more harm than good for the improvement of the countries