In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that in the foremost future, online publications will replace the printed ones and be offered for free reading. From my perspective, I oppose this assertion because it is illegal to own registered works and some academic documents are not allowed to be published on online platforms.

To begin with, it is illegitimate and disrespectful to access chargeless articles. To be specific, paperworks can be seen as authors’ property, hence, they have the intellectual property rights to protect their products in the market. As a consequence, if readers get these documents without payment, it is deemed as unlawful and they might cope with financial punishments. Furthermore, the owner might not have income since books and newspapers are their revenue resource. In Vietnam, there are a multitude of browsers searching for pirated comics reading webs to read at no charge. This trend is impossible to be completely eliminated as if one website is deleted, other websites will spring up.

Besides, not all contents are available on cyberspace. From a confidential perspective, the head of the organisation solely consent to circulate the documents internally. In educational institutions, the majority of syllabuses are compiled by lecturers, and they are forbidden to be leaked on the internet community. As a result, students are obligated to give payment to physical copies.

To sum up, I fail to agree that physical books or newspapers will be substituted by unpaid on-screen ones for two reasons. One is related to the copyright infringement and the other is the unapproachability to organisation’s private papers.