‘Global warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment. What problems are associated with global warming and how could they tackled at a national level”

Nowadays, our "Common Home" means that the environment faces serious conditions, which is the most alarming problem today. It is true that global warming is probably the most worrying threat to our planet. While the effect of it is extremely serious, I hold a firm belief that some steps can be taken by the government to address this issue.

In terms of the natural problem, first of all, the planet's surface temperature has risen over the years result in raising sea level because polar ice caps melting. One recent data suggests that over the past 20 years, sea levels have increased by 0.13 inches a year which is rough twice the speed of the preceding 80 years (Skillful 4, Reading and writing). Therefore, the place of greatest influence is the low-lying areas such as the Netherlands. Scientists predict that in the future this country will be covered by seawater if climate change continues. Another effect is that some species are at risk of extinction. As the ice melts in the North Pole, some species like polar bears and tropical frogs can not adapt to a new environment that leads them to death. The last but not least effect of high temperatures is natural disasters happen frequently around the world. Every year floods, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis or hurricanes cause damage to billions of people, their homes, and properties. In Vietnam, six people died in a recent landslide in Quang Tri province. Thus, the consequences of global warming are extremely important and alarming.

Nevertheless, effective policies must be adopted to deal with those problems or at least reduce the effects Firstly, the government needs to raise awareness of people via radio, television, or other mass media such as Facebook, Zalo, and so on, and introduce potential methods to protect the environment such as reducing our dependence on fossil fuels and promoting alternatives like plant plastic, biodiesel, wind, solar energy, and planting more trees to provide oxygen to the atmosphere and absorb carbon, reducing soil and ecosystem erosion. Secondly, it is necessary to set up stricter laws to punish individuals and companies who pollute the environment by discharging garbage, wastewater, or toxic fumes into the environment. Finally, the government needs to collaborate with other countries to find out potential ways to solve these issues.

In conclusion, although global warming is a serious problem that causes rising sea levels, animal extinction, and disasters of nature. However, there are measures that the state can do to solve by raising citizen consciousness, setting law, and joining hands with others. For a green, clean and beautiful environment, we will contribute to protecting that common house.