Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest the money in public, services instead. To that extent do you agree with this statement?

The money spent on arts by the government could be used for something better, according to some people. In my opinion, I strongly disagree on this statement. I believe that art is equally important like any other industry.

Creativity is something that cannot be taught, it should come from within and creativity is the essence of art, be it painting, music, dance, etc. Not all people will want the same thing in life, some will want to be artists too. Painting is not just a picture that’s drawn in a canvas, there’s much more to it. Each painting contains a lot of deeper meanings placed subtly around the image. The message that the artist tries to convey is often not comprehended by common audience. For instance, the Mona Lisa by Leonardo Da Vinci is worth billions of dollars now. It’s considered as a masterpiece till now is because of the detailing and the hidden messages it’s trying to convey. Good art should be considered as a work of brilliance for all the efforts and thinking that goes behind in bringing the portrait to life. Internationally acclaimed movie or music or any form of art brings laurels to the country which also leads to revenue for the government. The sculptures created by artists, theater Performances of our traditional values helps us remember our cultural existence. They are the constant reminders for us and generations hence.

In conclusion, government’s investment towards art is not in vain considering the current market for music, theatre, etc. Government will definitely see return on investment which can always be used for other development activities across the country.