The government is responsible for protecting a nation’s cultural identity. Thus, some people believe new buildings should be built in traditional styles.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Every city has its architectural character, and this architecture represents the culture of the

place. However, I disagree that modern buildings should be built in traditional styles. In the

following paragraphs I shall put forth my arguments to support my views.

Firstly, in most large cities, land is scarce and consequently it is very valuable. This has led to the construction of tall buildings which occupy only a small area of land while providing lots of floor space where people can live or work. We also have to meet the needs of the

growing population for which tall buildings are the answer. Moreover, there is no need for

deforestation to provide more land.

Secondly, modern materials are more practical. Now we use concrete and steel instead of

stone, timber or brick. Because of these things buildings can be built comparatively quickly

using prefabricated materials. They do not use local materials, such as stone, timber or

brick, which used to give character to those buildings. Finally, changes are taking place in

climate and energy sources are depleting fast. So we need energy efficient houses. Modern

buildings use double glass front walls and POP( Plaster of Paris) ceilings which lessen the

energy requirements. Moreover, now we need smaller houses as family structure is

changing.

However, I believe that every city should preserve the already existing historic buildings

which give character and identity to the city. The various forts and palaces in Rajasthan,

India have been preserved and are being used to attract tourism. I agree with this kind of

initiative taken by the government.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, it is the need of the day that modern buildings

be built in today’s contemporary styles and to give identity to a place one or two historic

buildings may be there in every city.