The Government’s investment in Arts, Music and Theatre is a waste of money. Government should invest these funds in Public Services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

A developed nation is known by equity provided by the government in every stream. It is believed that investment by government in the field of entertainment and culture is good-for-nothing, whereas, the same amount of money should be use on the public goods. I agree with the statement but cultural aspects cannot be overlooked in the terms of government’s spending.

Beyond any qualms, there are several compelling reasons why funds should be invested in public betterment because education plays very crucial role as educated citizens contribute a big chunk in growth of the country. Firstly, it boosts economic and social progress by supporting better literacy, income equity and increase gross domestic product of the nation. For instance, a survey done in UK last year shows that educated people get more opportunities in their life and tend to stay healthier than those who are not. Hence, education is an essential tool for everybody’s overall development.

Further reinforcing, there are myriad logical thoughts to support the same view because a healthy nation explicates overall wellbeing. Better healthcare services provide larger room for human development as it increase human life expectancy and reduce treatment burden for person and the government as well. That is to say, developed nations like USA, Canada provide best healthcare to its citizens so that they can ask for better productivity from its people. Therefore, government must invest funds in medical facilities.

On the contrary, other aspects can not be ignored as well. Not only public services but also entertainment and cultural aspects are crucial for human growth. Undoubtedly, entertainment removes mental stress and improve mental health which is quite problematic in recent times. For instance, a study of New York University shows that 1 out of 3 people are suffering from mental stress which causes depression. As a matter of fact, government must invest money on entertainment facilities or programs such as cinema halls, theatre, art gallery, cultural fair, food fests and many more so that people can meet and greet which will help in emotional and mental stability. Hence, it will promote creativity and passion to follow.

To recapitulate, promotion of education and maintenance of healthcare services are essential for nation’s growth, but facilities for entertainment are also important for healthy and productive environment in society. But will it be followed in future? Still stays a question.