The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer

Some people think that public tobacco consumption should be limited, while others claim smoking to be their ultimate right. In regard to this problem, I side with the supporters of the governmental intervention, and believe that public spaces ought to be free from tobacco smoke.

Firstly, smoking in public places violates the right for healtfy environment of others. Nicotine does not only affect the direct consumer but also the people around. Passive smoking can be as harmful as an active, especially for non-tolerant of tobacco people (allergics, children, etc.). While I believe everybody should be entiteled to their body and poison themselves if they wish, they should not be allowed to affect people who have chosen a healfy lifestyle.

Another concern that should be taken into the account is the high danger of a fire connected with cigarettes. There are numerous of examples where inacuraccy with cigarettes have led to losses in infrastructure or even human lives. Therefore, as common areas usually attract an increased number of people, which often can not be evacuated quickly, additional anti-fire measures should be imposed there. Smokers here again increase danger not only for themselves, but also for other people.

In conclusion, it is the role of the government to keep public areas safe for citizens' lives and health. Smoking should be banned as an example of an action aiming to the opposite goal.