Government should find scientific research rather than commercial organization. To what extend do you agree or disagree with the statement.

Some people think that scientific research should not be monopolized by private companies, but a government ought to fund it and as a result control it. I partially agree with this opinion, as commercial organizations should work together with politicians for a greater good of the nations. But at the same time, they should be able to maintain a certain level of freedom, as well as professional competitiveness.

There is a multitude of significant subjects that require immediate research and development, health end environment being, in my opinion, the most prominent. They are the ones, that should be sponsored and overlooked by the government's specialists, as no private company should be allowed to monopolize their findings. For example, research into Covid-19 vaccine, taking place at Oxford University, is being sponsored in a great percentage by a government. As a result, if the trials are successful, the government will have a say in the distribution and immunization schedule. Otherwise, we might end up with very expensive, maybe even exclusive vaccine.

On the other side, scientific research should be free of political bias and censorship. There are countries, where without private companies, certain studies would have never taken place. Unfortunately, that is the situation in Poland, where the ruling party has a very strong connotation with the Catholic Church. As a result, the research into, as well as in-vitro fertilization method itself, are very controversial and restricted. If it was not for commercial organizations, many families would have no access to it at all. Thanks to the competitiveness between research facilities, Poland was able to achieve a very high standard of the in-vitro method, making it the most successful one in Europe.

On conclusion, scientific research is so crucial that it requires constant and intense support of the government, but at the same time, private organizations should benefit from freedom from censorship and utilise they ambitions to reach the heights of discovery.