Government should introduce healthcare which prevents illness rather than cures it. How far do you agree with the statement?

It is often argued by a number of people that preventing illness issues is much better than treating them. In my opinion, I partially agree with that point of view for several reasons.

The first argument is that preventing illness helps people to save much money that is spent on medical expenses. When people catch any diseases, they ought to spend a lot of money buying drugs, paying hospital fees. Furthermore, if people get a serious disease, they even have to invest a huge amount of money to save their lives. However, not many people can afford to pay that much.

Another strong point is that promoting prevention methods may encourage people to live a healthy life. In other words, if he wants to remain healthy, he has to protect himself from a variety of negative elements. To do this work most effectively, the government should invest in highlighting the benefits of a healthy lifestyle by launching health awareness campaigns.

On the other hand, there is no way to prevent all health problems. For example, cancer is one of the most complex illnesses which cannot be prevented easily by just following a healthy lifestyle. Besides, accidents from work or on the road will also cause injuries which need medical treatment. If the government focuses mainly on prevention, there may be less money for urgent healthcare and people could suffer.

To sum up, I believe that governments should produce a balance of prevention and medical treatment, but the main focus should be on prevention rather than cure.