The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizen’s health rather than on protecting Environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Given the government’s funding, there is an argument that instead of pouring money on protecting the environment, this money will be more effectively used for medical studies to enhance people’s health quality. It seems to me that while the urgency for new medical remedies is rapidly increasing, the seriousness of environmental issues still cannot be ignored.

Today, government’s conscience about the extreme importance of medical research is higher than ever. The outbreak of the new virus COVID-19 leading to thousands of deaths and the closure of the economies really has had a profound effect on authorities as for the first time, they have given priority to medicine rather than economy. But not only in the weak of the disastrous pandemic when a vaccine is virtually required do medical investigations is important but our day-to-day lives are also in need of these: people’s craving for a cure for deathly deseases such as HIV/AIDS, cancer..., drugs to eliminate chronic illness or supersede long-lasting treatment. Therefore, government’ funding is worth being speeded on medical research.

On the other hand, environmental problems have been witnessed to rise at an alarming rate and posed a direct threat on people’ lives. From air pollution, contaminated water which lead to many respiratory, digestive deseases to the more intensive frequency of extreme weather conditions resulting from global warming, greenhouse effect are causing a lot of damages and casualties. All these proofs remind us of people’s responsibilities for caring our habitat and therefore, reinforce the notion about how necessarily government’s funding should be focused on the issue.

In conclusion, both environment and health significant aspects of our lives hence neither of them can be indifferent by the government.