Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Government should invest on new railways rather than build new roads. I strongly agree.

To begin with, Railways have less impact on environment and occupy less area than roads. Railway can transport many people and commodities simultaneously and it uses less energy per passenger compared to road. Railways usually are part of public assets and are managed by government. In this regard, some environmental policies or new technologies which improve energy efficiency can be easily implemented. On the other side, roads are often used by people which seek their own benefits and do not pay that much attention to environmental issues. They would choose a means of transportation that charges them less disregarding how much it is good for environment.

Secondly, Railway has higher rate of safety than road. Trains move on specific railway and all of them are monitored by experts which means the probability of crashing two trains is almost zero. On the other side, crashing two cars is inevitable and the large number of people die on roads every day.

Lastly, people can easily do their daily routines when they are in the train. It is undoubtedly a very important feature. For instance, reading books, sleeping, playing games and doing your job remotely are all advantages that people would have traveling by train. They can walk along the corridors and prevent to get backache.

In conclusion, train have many advantages which outweigh road’s benefits. Governments should encourage people to use railway mode by virtue of invest money on its infrastructures and decrease the price of its tickets. Government also would be benefited from that. Government would not spend much money to mitigate environmental issues or accommodate medical care for people who are injured in car accidents.