Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The industrial revolution has resulted in the urge for development in certain areas, including transportation. Such a field is required to improve in order to facilitate trading as well as citizens’ commute. Regarding that, a question arises as to whether government shall concentrate on upgrading the railway system instead of the roadway. In my point of view, it is necessary to focus on building a sustainable railroad.

In comparison to railroads, roadways are more economical to maintain since they can be taxed through toll gates. Government can also employ such taxation to generate a nation venue. Besides, commuters can customize their experience with a variety of choices of vehicles, ranging from the bus and taxis to private transportation like bikes, motorcycles, or cars. Additionally, they are more active in controlling time, speed, and destination’s stoppages throughout the journeys. For example, when traveling in a domestic car, families can easily slow down and stop by stations or beautiful sceneries.

Although the maintenance of trains is more costly, these means of transportation are beneficial for several reasons. Firstly, trains are faster than some road vehicles. It is published that a train can speed up to 100km/h. Secondly, trains can carry more cargo and passengers, which is more suitable for long-distance journeys. Therefore, it is actually cheaper than some road transportation. Thirdly, in certain aspects, the traffic systems of railroads help avoid collisions and ensure safety. Finally, if money were spent on railways, the number of vehicles on road would decrease, further avoiding crew and detrimental road accidents.

In conclusion, I concur with the idea that authorities should allocate money to railways due to all the reasons listed above. Commuting by train is far more efficient and inexpensive for civilians.