Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Many people argue that the government should invest more money on railways rather than roads. From my side of view, I partly agree with this assertion; the right amount of money should be used by the authorities for both railways and roads depends on the needs of the residents.

On the one hand, railways are more convenient and beneficial for freight and contribute to the growth of the economy. For example, rail transportation systems have low prices, save more money, are environmentally friendly, usually on time, many kinds of goods are transported safely and have been used widely by many companies. Furthermore, in some densely populated areas, railways can be a more effective mode of transportation. Railways support the development of public transport infrastructure and are especially efficient during peak hours to meet the needs of passengers.

On the other hand, roads can be used by wider range of vehicles. While railways only limited for trains, roads can be used by cars, buses, bicycles. Therefore, roads are less expensive to build compared to railways and more accessible for people from all regions. For instance, railways cannot be built everywhere; however, roads can easily built anywhere for many purposes. Moreover, roads can be built wider to improve the amount of vehicles used. If roads are wider, even more vehicles can use without any obstructed.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that governments should allocate funds based on the specific needs of their citizens, not on a particular type of transportation.