Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The development of road systems and the possession of individual vehicles these days has become so common all over the world that people think it is obvious and get deal with it. However, some others do not believe so and an attitude for that is the government should focus on investing and developing railway systems rather than roads. In my opinion, i agree with that for the following main reasons.

The first urgent reason is saving. The only move by railways undoubtedly consumes less energy than the amount of energy used for individual vehicles by the corresponding number of people moving. While the issue of energy crisis has always been the cause of mode trade wars and competition from developed countries, the development of railways system should be encouraged. The advancement of technology has led us to the move of the subways based on the principle of the magnet's propulsion force a few years ago, which in turn exposed a more positive future in giving up the means of transport due to fossil fuels. Beside saving money, railways also help us save time. For example, if there are numerous of workers who work in the same area at the same time, it is obvious that moving on the same route is smarter and more reasonable solution than each person moving by herself. Convenience and freedom to go anywhere by personal is true but that also means the streets are never free from crowded and vehicles, dust, which create a great pressure on human health and environment.

The following reason which made me give railways more support than roads is the safety of railways. Normally, highways are built along the forest edges without any barriers or signals to ensure safety for drivers when the fauna pass by. Along with the speed of moving on highways is like a flash, the driver has only two choices, either to turn the steering wheel to ensure the safety of species or to accept killing animal, and both are too dangerous and are faulty methods if the driver is forced to do that, even some of them are animal lovers. It is cruel when humans kill wild animals even though it is the only way for them to save themselves and thus, they trade naturally for their own convenience. Meanwhile, the railway systems, especially subways, can avoid almost of these incidents. With barriers built up on both sides of the tracks and signaling horns, accidents are limited to the minimum.

Subsequently, the development of railways bring countless of benefits from helping people reduce lots of waste. Because everyone's need for for personal vehicles is unlimited, more and more motorbikes or cars are unnecessarily sold, which not only consumes energy to produce but also discharging numerous of garbage from old vehicles. Evidence from surveys and in fact has shown that in " super dumpsites", except domestic waste, most are tires or car bodies. Some argue that railways also produce garbage, not just road. I believe there if no evidence to support that argument cause most part of railways' vehicles are made from alloy and that can be recycled after melting unlike cars or motorcycles, which parts are made from plastic and impossible to be recycled except compressing them into big garbage. The calculating cost from individual vehicles waste indicates undoubtedly that they cost more than investing railways