Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The issue of whether authority should take investments for railroads instead of roads remains a matter for debate. Personally, I am against this idea due to its drawbacks that are discussed below.

it costs an excess of money to build station platform and use specialized trains to make sure the safety, modern and environmentally friendly. For example, the Ho Chi Minh City Metro project has started construction since 2017 and has spent numerous government budget as well as ODA funding. However, this project is not likely to be completed on time in 2020 because of an increasing number costs.

On the other hand, roads would ensure more convenient transportation to connect this economic region to other economic zones, contributing to promoting economic development. For instance, it would be easier to transport agricultural products from rural to urban by roadways than by rail transport. this example makes it clear why many people support this stance. Moreover, there are various vehicles on the road, which confirms roadways will be more popular and more convenient than railways. We can not use bicycles, motorbikes or cars on rails, but these ones can be moved on roads.

For the reasons mentioned above, I believe that the government should not spend the capital on increasing railroads rather than roads.