Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Advanced public transportation networks is a sign of developed countries in today modern world, It is been argued that authorities must utilize more money in train railways instead of roads. I believe it is a money well spent on railways and can bring several advantages.

To begin with, many citizens cannot afford the luxury of owning a car and effective railways system will be an added value to easy commuting. For instance, in European countries the taxes over cars is high which makes owning a vehicle a challenge. In contrast, they build proper train system which even the people who are owners of cars are using it during their daily routine of attending work due to its convenient and peace of mind. As a result, the number of cars on the road during rush hours decreased which means less traffic jams. Subsequently, air became less polluted hence healthier life.

On the other hand, this might not be a helpful scenario for the people who are resident in villages and remote areas because usually government does not extend the railways to those areas due to the count of the population and the statistics figures of public transport usage since the majority depends on cars. Neglecting the development of roads in such areas lead to comfortless travel. Moreover, it could lead to cars mechanical fault and wear tires.

In conclusion, Transportation systems are vital and part of most human daily life. Authorities increasing the fund of railways is beneficial for the society and environment.