The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Millions of people die of overweight and diseases related to it every year. About two have died when you read this sentence. For this reason, the increasing number of obese people has put burdens on the health care system for curing them. To resolve this matter, it is suggested that schools should include extra gymnastic classes in their teaching programs. In a way, I agree with this solution because it can address the matter on a certain percentage.

Undoubtedly, one of the main reasons which cause overweight is the lack of exercises. Under the enchantment of electronic devices like smartphones, students can hold their phones and stay at their rooms day by day as long as they connect to the internet. If this happens on a regular basis, they will be diagnosed with obesity. Therefore, organizing more sections about physical education can moderately reduce the amount of time they spend on touching their phones and instead, help them exercise their bodies. In addition, local schools can collaborate in holding an annual contest where teenagers can compete healthily, and by which raises their willingness of stretching muscles often.

However, it seems that this proposal is not enough for eradicating overweight because it only treats on a particular scale. Because of being tied up in a fast-paced lifestyle, many households tend to consume fast food rather than prepare homemade food. And, according to recent studies, junk food contributes to obesity far more than insufficient exercises. That is why we have to deliberate more ways to deal with this problem. For instance, providing students with more appetizing and nutrient cuisine in school canteens can be a considerable option.

To conclude, this suggestion cannot totally address the matter. Hence, we should put different solutions on the scale to optimally prevent overweight.