with a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing GM foods. what is the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Increase of diseases leads to growing concern in whether GM foods are beneficial for human health or not. Many people are of the opinion that producing GM foods is imperative to feed a huge number of population. The pros and cons of this trend will be analyzed in this essay before any conclusions are reached.

To begin with, there are surely many benefits that people can enjoy from this tendency. First, since GM foods usually are prolific, the preference for this food can bring more foods to destitute citizens , which plays an important role in reducing poverty. The high yield of these foods is not only livelihood to farmers but also is a key to improve public health. Take a artificial meat, a GM food, for example. A group of scientists are carrying on a project, funded by the billionaire Bill Gates, trying to creat meat not resulted from livestock breeding. Despite being in progress, the investigation is expected to eliminate starvation around the world. Another advantage of foods made from genetically modified technology is that people can have seeds highly resistant to pest as well as survival under hard condition. As a result, the amount of pesticides and fertilizers is curtailed. In addition, thanks to genetic diversity, there is a surge in the variety of foods combing good features of many orginal foods. For example, watermelon is regarded as a case of point. Red watermelon is the only option in the past, in contrast, yellow watermelon is popular nowadays.

This tendency, however, is not free from drawbacks. Admittedly, GM foods are lucrative but in some cases they have a negative impact on human’s health. Although scientists do not observe evidences to protest these foods, destroying natural rule can cause harm in one way or another. More seriously, many people believe that there is a connection between the widespread cancer and the pervasiveness of GM foods. Apart from that, genetic change makes orginal gene disappear. Subsequently, when it come to the biological aspect, some precious characteristics of plants are vanished.

By the way of conclusion, even concerns relating to GM foods can be deniable, which is overweighted by its advantages in my opinion. The headaches mentioned above will be resolved soon because of the explosion of technology.