Happiness is considered very important in life.

Why is it difficult to define?

What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Happiness is a common aim among all people. While there is some disagreement over whether most happiness arises during the childhood or the adulthood, I believe that happiness depends on attitude, not the age, of each individual.

On the one hand, childhood can be the happiest, despite of the high pressure of academic achievements, since children have less pressure or responsibilities in general, thus less to worry about. Unlike adults, students generally feel no pressure on earning a good living and looking after others. Instead, they have enough time to discover their hobbies and enjoy it in the sake of realizing themselves and finding their interest. Therefore, it can reasonably said that youth can live their life offers the opportunity to live more happily.

On the other hand, adults may fell a greater happiness and satisfaction because of their greater autonomy. Compared to children, adults no longer need to obey their parents and teachers orders. In addition, they are more free to do whatever they want and become whoever they want to be. For example, drinking alcohol and going on spending on spree are not even prohibited in the adulthood, but this is considered as a big issue in the childhood. Moreover, adults can harness their freedom as a fuel to build a great future by choosing what they love which help building a bright shining future. Therefore, happiness can be experienced in adulthood with enough independence.

In conclusion, although adolescence comes with few responsibilities, adulthood presents the opportunity for greater independence. While both may influence happiness, I believe the key to happiness does not concern to generation, but instead one’s attitude to life.