As housing is a basic need for people government should provide free housing for everyone who cant t afford it To what extend do you agree or disagree

House is the basic necessity for every individual. Few people believe that government should provide free houses to people who can’t afford it. I partially agree with the statement as instead of providing free house to people, government should help citizen to buy their own houses and provide free houses will be burden on government as it involve huge investment.

Government of any country works for the people of the country and serve them to the best of their capability. However this does not mean to provide free stuff to the people. In other words, government should uplift the standard of living of people by giving them enough opportunity to earn more money. Distributing houses free of cost to people who can’t afford will make them more dependent. Instead of that, providing loans to people at low interest rate or making real estate prices more affordable would work more efficiently for the nation as it will generate jobs as well as make person work for the facility and make them independent. For example, recently launched one house scheme by Haryana government which allow people having income below Rs 5 lakh per annum to apply for 0% interest rate loan in public banks.

Another reason why government should not provide free housing is the huge investment it will require and put burden on the working population of the nation. India is a populous nation with 60% of people not having their own house and if free houses are to be provided then it will create problem on the fiscal condition of the country.

In conclusion, government should make citizen more independent by launching more affordable housing scheme instead of providing free houses as it will put pressure on the financial condition of the country.