A hurricane is a major tropical storm that originates along the equator in the Atlantic Ocean, the Caribbean Sea, and the eastern Pacific Ocean. The process of storm formation changes through many stages and is affected by various factors.

First, sunlight hitting the sea makes the water evaporate and accumulates, creating a layer of moist air above the sea's surface. The higher you go, the colder the column of humid air gets and condenses. After that, this process gives off a rather large amount of heat, which heats the surrounding air. The hotter the air, the higher the column of moist air rises, resulting in more moisture being sucked in. While being sucked in, the humid air currents are acted upon by the Coriolis force (the force of inertia produced when everything moves through the Earth). - rotating object). This force causes an air vortex to form a recirculation. Finally, when the wind speeds reach 74 mph, the storm is officially a hurricane. Tropical cyclones usually weaken when they hit land because they are no longer being "fed" by the energy from the warm ocean waters. However, they often move far inland, dumping many inches of rain and causing lots of wind damage before they die out completely.