I love music

In this day and age, the dominance of technological advances has revolutionized education in many aspects, leading to the fact that computer-based courses are widely replacing the traditional classes in many universities. Although the benefits of this trend are varied, in my opinion, its drawbacks are more significant and should not be ignored.

On the one hand, offering online courses for university students can be advantageous to some extent. To be more specific, courses based on Internet platforms provide learners with more flexibility as they can get access to the lessons from anywhere according to their own schedule, as long as Wifi connection is available. In fact, students nowadays can make use of their time when waiting for a bus or sitting on a bus to access the course and acquire knowledge. Besides that, it is true that the cost of online courses are much cheaper than the traditional learning models. Instead of paying extra money for facilities on campus, which is quite expensive, students can pay smaller amount of fee for the online courses.

On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that the disadvantages eclipse the advantages mentioned above. First of all, in order to achieve good academic results, intensive self-discipline is required. Learners seem to be easily distracted by surroundings such as surfing Facebook or listening to music, which have negative impacts on their concentration and efficiency. In addition, the lack of face-to-face interaction and peer support can demotivate online students. If learners do not understand the lessons, it will be difficult for them to ask teachers or friends and then be explained as clearly as in traditional classrooms. Consequently, they get confused and have no motivation to finish the course as they cannot catch up with the course and make progress.

In conclusion, because of aforementioned reasons, it seems to me that the merits of online classes are surpassed by the demerits.