IELTS 6 Test 2 Writing Task 2 Academic Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair Discuss both of these views and gi

These days highly skilled sports persons make a lot of money when compared to people in other major professions such as medicine, engineering and law. It is often debatable amongst people, some people do not have any issues with this while others believe it is quite unreasonable. This essay will discuss both views; however I am of the opinion that no profession should be considered more important than the other because each of them have inestimable values in our lives.

Firstly, just like medicine, nursing and law these sports men go through rigorous amount of trainings before they are considered professionals. Sports require a lot of both mental and physical strengths making it impossible for so many people to participate in it or continue if they had showed interest in it earlier on. For instance, in a study recently conducted in Australia sports centre , an average runner or tennis player has to train for a period of fourteen hours in a day, five times a week and for 8 months before they are even allowed to participate in any sports competition. These men and women have to pay a huge amount of money to be trained by professionals and to be able to buy some some sports equipment, also exercising for a very long period of time can be very exhausting and sometimes they sustain a lot of injuries. Many of them even end up disabled for the rest of their lives so paying them huge amounts of money is more like an insurance to compensate for any loss.

On the other hand, so many people are actually talented in sports and do not need to train for a long period of time however, in some professions like medicine and law no one is actually talented in this field and will have to go to school for an average of 5 to 6 years. For instance, an average medical doctor will have to train for ten years before he is allowed to practice. This can be mentally draining and expensive and requires soo much effort. Also, in our society, we cannot do without a medical doctor, a nurse, a lawyer and even an engineer but we will be able to survive without a sports man. So these other professionals should considered more important than our sports men and so should be paid more.

In conclusion, both sides have merit however in my opinion no profession should be considered more important than the other because they all require a great time, money and strength.