IELTS essay:What disadvantages will people meet if they cannot use computers? What should our government do?

Nowadays, computers are considered to be an essential part of life. Non-computer users are often excluded from their work and lives. I agree with that statement and prove that those people are at disadvantages if they could not get familiar with computers.

Non-computer users often have/encounter difficulties in work. It takes more time for them to deal with work matters. For example, a clerk who could not use computers may spend one or two hours editing a contact while another colleague only spends one and a half hour doing the same job with the aid of computers. In addition, they could not make long distance contacts in a short period of time because they do not use computers.

There are several disadvantages that non-computer users also experience in their normal life. First, they have limitations on access to worldwide information due to the fact that all sources of information now could be found on the internet. Second, an increasing number of social services are available online and one has to know how to use computers to utilize these services. For examples, people now can make transactions through an electronic medium without the use of checks or cash. Another example is that people can book train tickets via the websites of the train services. They do not need to go to train stations and buy tickets from the ticket boxes.

In short, that not know how to use computers is a disadvantage to some people. More time wasted on work, lack of access to worldwide information and social services are some of the disadvantages people could face in their work and normal life. Therefore studying computer use is a necessity for anybody in an open world today.