IELTS Task 2: Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same as adults who commit crimes. To What’s extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that the juvenile criminals should receive the same punishments as adults. While I accept that young offenders should be sentenced, I believe there is no need to impose them on a term of imprisonment like adults.

On the one hand, punishment is necessary for everyone, the youth is no exception, for some reasons. Firstly, it is of paramount importance to protect sanitation in every nation. For example, if children are not punished, they will mimic violent behaviours to show their personalities. In addition, they also may become a tool for crime institution utilize. Secondly, rehabilitating young troublemakers may enhance national economic development. The reason is that because youngsters are the main labour resource in each country, directing them to follow ethical standards may help gain their work performance.

On the other hand, I disagree that youngsters committing crimes should be treated at the same level as adults found guilty. One reason is that the offence of young people stems from their immature mind, which makes them be more affected by others. For example, some teenagers are motivated by other lawbreakers, so they turn to crimes such as drug trafficking, robbing, or gambling. Furthermore, being tough on crimes may demolish their social lives. For instance, the young people would find difficult to reintegrate back into community. As a result, they could not get a well-paid job to meet the basic human needs.

In conclusion, although I agree that young offenders should be treated for some reasons, I contend that they should be punished similarly as adult criminals.