The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognised as increasing numbers of species come under threat What can be done to maintain biodiversity

With increasing number of endangered species, more attention is being paid to biodiversity. Although maintaining biodiversity is a complex issue, there are several adoptable solutions for governments and individuals.

The first suggestion is to prohibit illegal hunting and related trade of wild animals. Commercial activities concerning catching wild animals and selling products made from them should be forbidden by governments firmly. Elephants, for example, have become endangered due to excessive killing for large amounts of ivory used for decoration. There is no need for illegal killing of these animals with plenty of artificial substitutes for natural materials like ivory. These species will live and reproduce stably without threat from human activities.

Another effective solution is to restore vegetation that is ruined by humans. Reforestation in some areas can be achieved by fertilising soil and planting trees. Forests play an important role in providing habitats for a large number of species so abundant biodiversity can be restored with reforestation.

The final advice is to reduce pollution caused by individuals. It is advisable to choose eco-friendly products that consume less energy and produce smaller pollution in daily life. Also, public transport emits a smaller amount of greenhouse gas than private vehicles. This can contribute to slowing the process of global warming so species can be faced with less problems caused by climate change.

In conclusion, biodiversity deserves more attention with increasing number of endangered species. In response to this issue, steps can be taken to contribute to biodiversity by both individuals and governments.