With the increasing demand for energy sources such as oil and gas should people be looking for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas

The rapid growth of population has brought many serious problems, one of which is the lack of energy, so we need to find new mining areas. Some provinces plan to find new oil fields and natural gas in uninhabited areas. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this idea outweigh its advantages.

Admittedly, there are several advantages accruing from oil exploitation. The immediate one is that the remote areas with oil reserves have the potential to stimulate the economy and generate employment. For instance, Saudi Arabia, which is the largest exporter of crude oil in the world, has built many factories to exploit energy sources. The government has earned a lot of money by selling raw oil and gas to developed countries. Besides, this business activity provides people with many job opportunities such as engineering, communication, education and catering businesses. However, these benefits do not necessarily imply that oil exploration in uninhabited places is completely acceptable.

In fact, the negative impacts of looking for oil and gas are irreversible. There is no doubt that it will harm the environment. After being exploited for a long period of time, lands will have no more value. Also, gas and oil are non-renewable energies. Thus, if we overexploit them, the next generation will have to face more serious problems than we do now.

These resources may also arouse the greed of others and thus cause war. For example, due to the outbreak of the Fourth Middle East War in October 1973, the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) announced an oil embargo and suspended exports in order to fight against its opponent Israel and the countries that support Israel. This caused oil prices to rise, and ultimately caused severe economic turndown in most industrialized countries around the world.

In conclusion, oil exploitation has caused many other serious problems. Perhaps, we should use renewable resources such as electricity and wind to make our world a better place.