Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about how to create a safer society, and this has turned into a dilemma facing many. Some people think of longer prison sentences as the best way to combat crime whereas others prefers alternative ways to achieve the same goal. In my opinion, both should be taken into consideration as they have their own merits.

On the one hand, lengthy incarceration has the deterrent effect on the public, particularly those prone to perpetrate crime, and Singapore provides the world with a good paradigm. After the Singaporean government has implemented the policy of longer jail sentences, this country experiences a downward trend in the number of law offenders, and this is due to the fact that the majority would choose to be law-abiding citizens for fear of being deprived of lifelong freedom. Though this measure is criticized as inhumane, it effectively deters people from violating laws, thereby reducing crime rates.

On the other hand, others propose less strict strategies, like education, to curb crime. They suggest that extending compulsory education produces two profound effects on reduced criminality. First, in terms of the short-term effect, this policy gives teachers opportunities to inculcate a sense of social responsibility to potential delinquents in the classroom, temporarily preventing them from engaging in illegal behavior. As illustrated in a social study pertaining to crime reduction, crime rates peak at the age of 18, but keeping teenagers in school during this key period can help ensure that they never proceed down the wrong track. Second, as far as the long-term effect is concerned, extra time spent in the education system equips people with professional skills conducive to better jobs and makes crime relatively less profitable. This is because the by-products of education such as stable wages and employment tilt the individual away from crime. In other words, there will be a long-run and sustained reduction in criminality for the group who received the extra education, as opposed to those who did not.

In conclusion, the two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that both of the harsh and lenient measures are needed for crime reduction. The former might be effectively creating a crime-free society while the latter is a way to instill correct values into our next generation.