An increasing number of people are changing their careers. What are the reasons? Do you think it is postive or negative?

There is an increasing trend for people to change their jobs. My belief is that new social patterns are the root cause of this, and that it has a positive effect on society.

There are two main ways are responsible for people changing their work in terms of economic growth and globalization. With regard to the former, as the burgeoning economy entails higher life cost, it is increasingly hard for employees to earn enough salary to support their lifestyles. This naturally lead to more workers wishing to seek better-paid jobs. The other related factor is that the increasing mobility of population is gradually altering people's perceptions of settling. Many people, especially the younger generation, are more likely to work in various places instead of a constant spot in order experience different styles of life.

I would argue that this phenomenon can mostly be beneficial to the society at two different levels. At company's level, employers are becoming more active in the job market so that they can hire more talents who can bring in advanced technology to improve their competition. This is particular the case with IT companies who are eager for professional people. Then on personal level, the opening job market gives more opportunities to workers so that finding a satisfying job is easier than before. The only drawback is that sometimes worker have to deal with some unexpected problems by frequent job-hopping, such as being marginalized by their new teams and failing to adapt new environment. That, however, a minor issue if company and people can hold more open attitude.

My conclusion is that people changing their careers is strongly connected to the transforming nature of society and should be encouraged.