An increasing number of people are choosing to commit suicide. What are the reasons? Suggest some solutions to this problem.

Modern society witnesses a paradox as more people choose to end their lives prematurely despite the so-called improved living standard. Suicidal thoughts can be attributed to a variety of factors, most of which are linked to traumatic experiences and the rise of superficial values. Mitigating this problem requires radical changes in national priorities and personal insights into core values.

Unwanted experiences are inherent in life, and learning to confront obstacles is a journey that makes people resilient. Unfortunately, traumatic events sometimes leave pains too devastating for people to handle, leading them to end up finding death as a way to escape. For example, children constantly exposed to domestic violence or bullied by peers would later develop phobias embedded in their subconsciousness. Together with hardships faced in adulthood, those mental injuries would trigger thoughts of suicide later in life. This problem is even made worse in today’s world where people are constantly pressured by deadlines as well as unachievable expectations. Another culprit of alarming suicide levels is the rise of individualism, which has been taken to the point that turns people into egoistic and indifferent outsiders. Modern lifestyle, combined with the urge to accumulate wealth, has overwhelmed working adults and put those with less competitiveness at the risk of suffering. Ironically, when those vulnerable individuals send out signals asking for help, their voice goes unheard in a world too fast and loud.

Addressing this problem necessitates sacrifices in economic development and psychological support in different forms. Given the current situation with an increasing number of people killing themselves, it is imperative for policy makers to reevaluate national priorities, currently associated with economic development. Sacrifices need to be made so that more resources can be allocated to promoting humane values such as aesthetic beauty, mutual respect, and affection. In this way, people can enjoy a society in which they learn to practice appreciation towards simple happiness, and desperate searches for help get answered. Suicidal attempts would drop once healing psychological pains, rather than craving for materialistic accumulation, is made a priority. This goal can only be attained if the authorities have the courage to value citizens’ level of happiness above the indicator of Gross Domestic Product (GDP). A telling example is Bhutan. This nation, with a GDP even lower than the fortune of a typical billionaire in the world, has incredibly few suicidal cases, compared to industrialized ones.

In conclusion, alarming rates of suicide is a result of painful events people undergo in a society which has been made outrageously stressful. Only when key values are reshaped with drastic changes in national policies can the situation get brighter.