Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

More and more students have been opting to undertake a studying abroad experience. This can be a positive experience in terms of expanding one's cultural competence and benefitting the destiny country's economy, as well as negative in regard to feelings of homesickness and possible economic losses for institutions that provide education. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of such experience.

Many people choose to study in another country for the fact that they want to expose themselves to different ways of being and living. In fact, increasing one's knowledge of people whose culture is different to their own is known as one of the best ways of improving one's emotional intelligence. Not only does travelling abroad for study purposes brings individual benefits, it can also be highly economically advantageous to the welcoming nation. A great example to illustrate this is Australia, a well-known destiny country for international students that has a significant income from international education.

On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to being away from one's home country for study reasons. The most obvious reason for students is missing their beloved ones. As a result, many international students suffer of depression and end up returning home before the end of their proposed stay in the foreign countries. Even though the study abroad experience can bring economic benefits to the countries that promote it, it can also cause loss of money to educational providers. If individuals cancel their enrolments, institutions such as colleges may not have enough time to enrol new students and therefore suffer economically. As well as this, a number of people claim reimbursements of their spending with enrolment fees and education providers have to spend large amounts of money with lawyers in order to protect their rights.

To conclude, studying in another country can have both positive and negative outcomes for individuals and nations. In one hand, such experience may increase one's capacity to relate to people from other parts of the world and boost a nation's economy. On the other hand, it can affect one's mental health due to homesickness and bring economic disadvantages to educational institutions.