Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

The issue of climbing the number of cars and traffic in mega cities is now a high priority problem. Although some argue that there is just one efficient solution to handle that and it is to raise fuel price, others, including myself, disagree and believe there could be some other helpful actions.

If petrol becomes expensive, the costs of transportation would be increase as a result, and it directly affects on prices of commodities. It means that although this kind of strategy might reduce the traffic in the streets, it has disadvantages such as inflation. Besides, it has been seen in many countries that the policy of increasing the costs of goods and/or services will not always cause the reluctancy of using them.

On the other hand, there are various alternative measures could be done to improve this important issue. One is to introduce a limitation on producing or importing automobiles. Another one could be for the government to buy older cars from owners and give them new less pollutant cars. Also fining drivers who pick their cars without any other passenger and make streets crowded, in order to courage people using public transportation when they are going to travel lonely, is a contributory movement.

In conclusion, I personally disagree with considering a raise in fuel price as a best possible option for controlling the traffic and contamination caused by that, because it can result in a jump in a prices of almost all other services and commodities, as well as the fact that the effect of this policy on decreasing car usage is not definite. There are other choices like curbing car production and import, substituting old vehicles, and to penalize cars with only one passenger.