Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems To what extent do you agree or disagree What other measures do you think might be effective

It is widely believed that the most effective way to address growing traffic and environmental pollution is to increase the price of fuel. From the personal perspective, I strongly argue that, besides raising the price of petrol, there are numerous different methods, which have brought the same positive impacts, to deal with current environmental issues.

On the one hand, there are persuading reasons why citizens put their belief in the government's policy to raise higher price of natural fuels to tackle some problems related to traffic and pollution. This is mainly because petrol has a crucial role to play in the operation of traffic. The soaring petrol's price can act as a deterrent for people who using their private cars or motorbikes switch to other public transportations to reduce the cost of moving. As a result of the diminution in the quantity of traffic, the environment also do not have to put up with enormous negative consequences such as exhaust gas, dust and discharged fumes. For example, when Australian government applied 20% higher tax on fuel industry in 2000, the traffic congestion has declined dramatically and also curbed the carbon footprint released on the environment through transportation.

On the other hand, I contend that some measures on traffic participants also contribute to combat the increasing number of traffic and serious pollution problems. Firstly, the government can enforce strict regulations on the owner of traffic in case they do not comply with the policies in terms of both traffic and the environment. The police and functional agencies must have a right to address offenders by fine or confiscation of driving licenses, which can directly affect on the consciousness of drivers and motorbikes. Secondly, through various environmental campaigns, the government also encourages inhabitants to make use of public infrastructure for the purposes of delivery and moving for the sake of the community's health and the environment. These methods can have a long-term impact because they modify people's behaviors and awareness.

In conclusion, increasing the price of petrol is only one of the various ways to deal with the pressing concerns of society , including growing traffic and pollution problems