Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Pollution and traffic congestion are among the most principle dangers facing this century. Some people view these inevitable phenomena as hazardous that could be curbed by increasing the price of petrol. However, I strongly believe that there are many other effective solutions .

Rise in petrol and diesel price in turn has a rippling effect .As all the commodities are transported across Egypt on vehicles that run on petrol or diesel , so increase in petrol price results in price rise of these commodities as well. The greatest sufferer of all this is a common man. He is already bearing the pressure of inflation and any increase in petrol price will further reduce his actual household income. Today every Egyptian spends almost half of his income on food items. If the petrol price keeps on increasing then every food item will get costlier. It will result in less of savings and more of expenditure. This in turn will affect the real estate, banking and other sectors. Eventually, more and more people will be pushed towards poverty line

Regarding better solutions, As a green supporter, you could shift increasingly towards renewable energy generation at the ways in which the carbon intensity and particles emerging from petrol of the entire economy can be lowered. Another factor contributing to poor air quality is motorized transport. Cars, motorbikes and buses all run predominately on petrol or diesel, which are carbon-heavy fuels. These are derived from fossil fuels, and so have problematic impacts on the environment, both global and local. So Renewable energy is not a direct way to reduce pollution and global warming. It is just an alternative energy generation method which is clean and thus reduces pollution from the now in-use highly polluting coal power plants .

By way of conclusion, reducing our impact on air quality is a serious commitment and it needs a comprehensive approach to ensure minimal impact With the right interventions. I completely believe that there are better solutions to extripate pollution and traffic problems than increasing fuel prices.