An increasing trend nowadays is for young adults to play computer games. Some people say is a negative development.

Discuss and give your opinion.

Teenagers engage more now in playing computer games than in the past, hence, many persons argue that this is indeed a bad development. In my opinion, while playing computer games can be a preferred type of entertainment for young adults, overall, this can have detrimental effects on their social life.

Firstly, the fact that more and more teenagers now focus on playing computer games, this can have a negative impact on their social life. In other words, negative consequences such as isolation from the social world can be a result of young adults merely focusing on playing computer game as a source of their entertainment. Subsequently, this can invariably lead to a strained personal relationship with families and friends. For example, a recent survey showed that 87% of teenagers admitted they felt isolated from the world when they spend most of their time playing computer games.

Although, there are negative views to this development, it has to be said that there are positive sides to this argument, which must be considered. Many believe teenagers are now into playing computer games now more than ever because they enjoy it as a type of entertainment. Further more, perhaps playing computer games for young adults brings them more happiness and contentent, thus, they tend to engage more in this gaming world.

In conclusion, while, teenagers take part in playing computer games now, more than ever before because they enjoy and prefer this as a form of entertainment, I believe this can have negative consequences on their social life.