International tourism is now more common than ever before Some feel that this is a positive trend while others do not

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on the impacts of international tourism. Some people assume that it is very rewarding, yet others voice concern about its adverse effects. As far as I am concerned, the downsides of tourism far outweigh its benefits, and as such it should be reasonably regulated.

On the one hand, there are two advantages of developing international tourism. The immediate ones are the improvements in infrastructure and new leisure amenities. Airports, road facilities and hotels have been continuously upgraded in order to keep pace with the rapidly growing tourist industry. Second, tourism can generate employment in local services such as entertainment, accommodation and catering for tourists. When a country receives tourists all over the world, its hotel industry, transportation, local business all flourishes. It will certainly revive the revenue resource of a country as well as generating huge employment opportunities. Accordingly, while the local unemployment rate decreases, the average standard of living of people increases.

On the other hand, its negative impacts on environment are irreversible. The damage to the local environment is the first price people need to pay for tourism. To cater to the tastes of the influx of tourists, host countries usually sacrifice the indigenous landscape for metropolitan facilities such as international hotel chains or global theme parks. In addition, tourism development puts pressure on natural resources. The overuse of water in tourist resorts, for instance, can result in water shortage in local areas. Even more disturbing, though, is the environment pollution that international tourism has caused in many parts of the world. In mountainous areas such as the Himalayas, trekking tourists and climbers leave behind their garbage and camping equipment. Such practices pollute the environment in remote areas with few disposal facilities.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that tourism boosts local economy, but this cannot be true if the explosive growth of tourism eventually leaves nothing but ruins for visitors to see. If uncontrolled, tourism will continue to take its toll on natural treasures, and these precious things cannot be restored once they have been spoiled. To prevent further destruction, it is imperative that governments lay down clear guiding principles regarding tourist industry.