International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, travelling overseas is becoming more affordable. In the meantime, many nations throughout the world are conducting new approaches to attract more tourists. From my perspective, the benefits that this trend offers, more job opportunities and cultural values promotion in particular, can overshadow its drawbacks, which is environmental destruction.

On the one hand, it is understandable that increased tourism has a negative impact on the local environment on account of the construction of more facilities and infrastructure such as hotels and golf courses to meet the demands of a rising number of visitors. Take Vietnam as a typical example, the regional authorities are permitted to cut down a great quantity of trees with a view to expanding the region, which can lead to the reduction of forest areas and contribute to global warming phenomena as well.

Although I accept that international travel may have a major shortcoming, I believe that its advantages outweigh those analyzed disadvantages above. To begin with, tourist service development provides the local employees with many job opportunities in the hope of responding to the needs of the travellers. As a result, it helps to improve the present economic situation of that country as well as enhance the living standards of the residents. Another significant upside of this growth is that the increased number of foreign people visiting another country would enhance tourism industries, contributing significantly to the wealth of that country. If those enjoy their trips, that destination can be recommended worldwide in the future.

To draw a conclusion, increased tourism has more upsides, which are to provide a greater employment rate and a means of promoting the local traditions, than downsides particularly environmental damage.