International travel is extremely popular these days. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

nowadays, international tourism has become more popular than it used to. Personally, I do think this trend offers pros and cons.

On the one hand, there are plenty of advantages for both tourist attractions and visitors. firstly, travelling raises the employment rate by creating job opportunities for local residents. As many shops and restaurants are opened to serve tourists, indigenous people can make a living. For example, in some tourist destinations, the demand for entertainment of visitors is increasing, so this allows native people to create amusement parks to attract visitors. As a result, the local residents have an amount of money from serving tourists for living and the joblessness rate decreases. Secondly, not only the visited country but also visitors are offered to enhance mutual understanding. For instance, when people travel to a nation, they have a chance to learn more about the nation's culture, lifestyle, language or even its residents that facilitate integration.

On the other hand, tourism offers as many drawbacks as benefits. firstly, for the nation visited, travelling does tremendous harm to the environment as the more people commute, the more trash is. A clear illustration for this is that lots of travellers who have bad behaviour often throw rubbish on the streets after buying food or drinks. this can cause air pollution, soil pollution, water pollution or even environmental deterioration. In addition, nowadays, when humans are suffering from Covid-19, international tourism can make this pandemic worse and worse. it is obvious that if people commute from this destination to another area, diseases can infect people easily. As a result, the pandemic will spread all over the world and become worse.

In summary, the popularity of international tourism has some advantages such as raising employment rate and promoting globalization. However, there are also several disadvantages in terms of environmental degradation and spreading infectious diseases recently.