International travel has become cheaper more and more countries open their doors and more tourists go abroad for travelling. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh the disadvantages.

Tourism is a part and parcel of everybody life. There are various factors for surging of overseas tourism one among them is better connectivity of flights and reasonable price of air tickets. I believe that the pros of tourism outweigh the cons and explicate my views on the subsequent paragraphs.

There are myriads of positives of international tourism. The first and foremost is, infrastructural development. As tourists come in country, they need accommodation for living as well as restaurants, hotels to eat so they provide employment opportunities to local people. Also, because of tourists lot of development takes place for instance, construction of better roads and airport availability. Considering further, overseas voyage also helps in spreading feelings of brotherhood. As a person gets knowledge about culture, tradition and language of the host country which enables intercultural understanding and linguistic exchange. As a consequence, travelling helps in spreading peace and harmony among nations.

On the contrary side, the negative effects of tourism cannot be neglected. The predominant one is, an increase in crime rates. Since the voyagers carry a lot of valuable items so they are the soft targets of criminals. Moreover, sometimes traveller themselves indulge in anti-social activities such as drug dealing and in taking of drugs which disturbs the local culture and especially the youngsters get addicted to these types of activities.

To conclude, it proves that merits of tourism out shadow its demerits. So it is an educational activity which should be encouraged and people travel as per their own choice.