The Internet is now used around the world as a source of information and communication. However, its content is often controversial, so many people think its needs to be controlled. Others believe there should be no interference whatsoever.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the light of the proliferation of technology, the Internet has been utilized worldwide as the primary means for users to approach information and keep in touch with their relatives in different geographical locations. Notwithstanding its enormous benefits, there have been many hot-debated discussions over whether the content appearing on cyberspace should be carefully verified in advance by the authorities or allowed complete freedom.

The advocates of Internet censorship tend to argue that erroneous and inappropriate information could potentially put people’s lives at risk. Obviously, there have been increasingly pornographic and drug-selling posts and ads on giant media platforms, including Facebook and YouTube. These harmful contents are ubiquitous and likely to turn naïve users into victims of drug addiction and sexual abuse. Another reason is that, without Internet restrictions, fraudsters can artfully and secretly access the users’ confidential information, such as credit card passwords or suggestive pictures, by enticing them into filling forms, which are claimed to offer them exclusive gifts in return. Consequently, their money would be stolen, and sensitive information even is used to blackmail them later.

On the one hand, others perceive regulating the Internet to be an invasion of their rights and privacy. These individuals suppose that they should be allowed to have a complete insight into domestic and foreign affairs regardless of the accuracy level of the information, which, in their opinion, would be evaluated by themselves. Also, from a financial perspective, managing and executing Internet regulation would require plenty of resources allocated for state-of-the-art technology and experts; the extent of effectiveness, however, is not entirely guaranteed. The extravagant expenditures on this process, thereby, are deemed to be spent on other essential social fields, such as education and healthcare.

Having all aspects considered conscientiously, restricting the range of information on the Internet is an imperative action that authority entities should take into consideration. However, it is advised to be done based on Internet users’ rights, needs, benefits, and privacy.