It is believed that pleasure reading is a better way to improve imagination and linguistic skills than watching TV. I agree with this idea for some reasons.

Of course, reading for pleasure brings benefits to the readers. As a language teacher, I have seen students read a text in both their native and foreign languages and have questions about the vocabulary, sentence structure or grammar use. This has helped them better understand of grammatical and lexical usage, especially in reading and writing. Also, when reading, the readers have to use their creativeness to comprehend the concept and the context delivered in the book. For example, children reading fiction may need to visualise the event, therefore improving their imaginative thinking.

Similarly, watching TV can enhance imagination and language ability. Viewers can improve their listening and speaking skills as they can listen to the sound of the word and how it is used in spoken context with vivid images to illustrate the exact meaning. In terms of imagination, many channels such as tourism or news inform viewers and help them imagine the world around. Otherwise, those who want to improve their thinking and imaginative skills can watch many educational programmes as quiz shows.

However, the reason why TV is not a good choice for learning such skills lies on the fact that it is more difficult to keep our attention on learning when watching TV than reading. Televisions focus on increasing ratings for the higher profit from advertising so that they often catch viewers’ attention on commercial or entertaining channels rather than educational ones.

In conclusion, although watching TV can improve language capabilities and imagination power for an individual, I think that reading is better and more effective than watching TV.